Comparison
Autel vs Topdon scanners compared tier by tier
Published
Short answer
Autel and Topdon line up closely at every tier. At the entry level the Topdon ArtiDiag600 Pro lists more services and lifetime updates than the Autel MD808 PRO for less money. In the mid-range the Topdon ArtiDiag Pro lists ECU coding and 35+ services for less than the Autel MK808S. At the pro level the Autel MS906 PRO and Topdon Phoenix Plus 2 both list coding, with Topdon adding topology.

Autel
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
See price on Amazon
TOPDON
Topdon ArtiDiag Pro: ECU coding and 35+ services
See price on Amazon
Autel
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services
See price on Amazon
TOPDON
Topdon Phoenix Plus 2: 10.1 inch, 40 resets, topology
See price on Amazon
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services- Connection
- Not stated
Topdon ArtiDiag Pro: ECU coding and 35+ services- Connection
- Not stated
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services- Connection
- Not stated
Topdon Phoenix Plus 2: 10.1 inch, 40 resets, topology- Connection
- Not stated
| Pick | Connection | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Topdon ArtiDiag Pro: ECU coding and 35+ services | Not stated | - | Amazon |
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Topdon Phoenix Plus 2: 10.1 inch, 40 resets, topology | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
Verdict
On listing facts Topdon gives more for the money in every tier: the ArtiDiag600 Pro over the MD808 PRO for basic all-system scans, the ArtiDiag Pro over the MK808S for bidirectional tests plus coding, and the Phoenix Plus 2 for a cheaper pro tablet with topology. Choose Autel if you want its interface, the MS906 PRO's stated 3000+ active tests, or coverage it lists for your vehicles.
Topdon is a newer brand than Autel, but it now sells a full range from basic scanners to pro tablets, often for less money. This page compares the two lineups tier by tier: an entry scanner that reads all systems, a bidirectional mid-range tool, and a pro tablet. Every spec in the tables comes from the listing text for each model. When a listing does not mention something, we write Not stated instead of guessing.
How the Autel and Topdon lineups are organized
Autel uses family names: MaxiDiag (MD) for scanners, MaxiCOM and MaxiCheck (MK and MX) for bidirectional tablets, and MaxiSys (MS) for pro tablets with coding. Our Autel scanner guide shows the current picks.
Topdon uses ArtiDiag for handheld and tablet scanners and Phoenix for its pro tablets. The ArtiDiag range runs from all-system code readers up to bidirectional tools with coding, and the Phoenix range adds larger screens and topology. Our Topdon scanner guide covers the range.
The tiers below match each brand's models by job and rough price, so you compare tools that are meant for the same buyer.
Tier by tier comparison table
One model per brand in each tier. Specs are from listing text only, and prices are listing prices at the time of writing.
| Tier | Autel model | Topdon model | Key listed difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry all-system | MaxiDiag MD808 PRO ($259): all systems, 7+ services, all 10 OBD2 modes | ArtiDiag600 Pro ($239): all systems, 9 services, CAN-FD, gateway access, lifetime free updates | Topdon lists more services, CAN-FD and lifetime updates |
| Bidirectional mid-range | MaxiCOM MK808S ($449): active tests, 28+ services, 150+ makes, FCA AutoAuth | ArtiDiag Pro ($379.99): bidirectional tests, ECU coding, 35+ services, FCA AutoAuth | Topdon lists ECU coding and more services for less |
| Pro tablet | MaxiSys MS906 PRO ($1,369): ECU coding, 3000+ active tests, 36+ services, 8 in screen | Phoenix Plus 2 ($999.99): ECU coding, 40 resets, topology, CAN-FD, 10.1 in screen, 2 years updates | Topdon lists topology, a bigger screen and a stated update term |
Entry tier: Autel MD808 PRO vs Topdon ArtiDiag600 Pro
Both listings describe all-system scanning, so either one will show codes from ABS, airbag, body and other modules, not just the engine. The Autel MD808 PRO lists 7+ services such as oil reset, EPB, SAS and DPF regeneration, all 10 OBD2 modes, an O2 monitor test and live data graphs.
The Topdon ArtiDiag600 Pro lists 9 maintenance functions including ABS bleeding, battery matching, brake reset, oil reset, DPF regeneration and throttle relearn. It also lists CAN-FD support, secure gateway access for FCA, Renault, Nissan and Ford (SFD), lifetime free updates over Wi-Fi, AutoVIN and live data recording and playback.
Neither listing claims bidirectional active tests. On listing facts alone, the Topdon offers more for slightly less, and its update term is clearly stated. See the DIY scanner guide for more entry options.
Mid-range: Autel MK808S vs Topdon ArtiDiag Pro
The Autel MK808S listing describes OE-level active tests on parts such as ABS, windows, door locks, wipers and headlights, 28+ services, coverage of 150+ makes, FCA AutoAuth and Renault gateway access, and an Android 11 tablet with a 4-core 1.8GHz processor.
The Topdon ArtiDiag Pro listing describes bidirectional control, ECU coding on makes such as VW, Audi, Skoda, Seat and Mercedes-Benz to turn hidden features on or off, 35+ service functions and FCA AutoAuth for 2017 and later vehicles. It notes that some adapters are no longer included in the package. It costs less than the MK808S at listing prices.
We compare these two in more depth in Topdon ArtiDiag Pro vs Autel MK808S. If coding sounds useful, read what ECU coding is to see what it can and cannot do.
Pro tablet: Autel MS906 PRO vs Topdon Phoenix Plus 2
The Autel MaxiSys MS906 PRO listing describes an 8-inch 1920x1200 screen, an 8-core CPU with Android 10, 4GB plus 128GB memory, advanced and online ECU coding, 3000+ active tests and 36+ services.
The Topdon Phoenix Plus 2 listing describes a 10.1-inch 1280x800 touchscreen, a quad-core 2.0GHz chipset with Android 10, 4GB RAM, 64GB storage and an 8MP camera. It lists ECU coding, 40 reset services, bidirectional active tests, CAN-FD, a topology module tree that shows all control units and their status, 150+ brands and 2 years of free updates.
The Topdon lists a lower price, a larger screen, topology and a clear update term. The Autel lists a sharper screen, more storage and a stated active test count. For shop use, check which makes each tool codes on your common jobs. The professional tablet guide covers this tier in detail.
Which brand fits which buyer
Coverage differs by make, model and year even between tools that list the same brand count. Check each maker's coverage list for your vehicles before you buy, and read our guide to updates and subscriptions so you know what renewals may cost later.
- Budget all-system scanner with stated lifetime updates: Topdon ArtiDiag600 Pro
- Budget all-system scanner in Autel's MaxiDiag interface: Autel MD808 PRO
- Bidirectional tests plus coding at the lowest price here: Topdon ArtiDiag Pro
- Bidirectional tests and resets on the MaxiCOM tablet: Autel MK808S
- Pro tablet with topology and a 10.1 inch screen: Topdon Phoenix Plus 2
- Pro tablet with 3000+ listed active tests and 128GB storage: Autel MS906 PRO
Frequently asked questions
Is Topdon as good as Autel? On listing facts, Topdon matches or exceeds Autel in each tier compared here, often for less. Autel has a longer track record and a larger range. Match the tool to your vehicles and the functions you need rather than the brand name.
Which is the better first bidirectional scanner? The Topdon ArtiDiag Pro lists bidirectional tests, ECU coding and 35+ services for less than the Autel MK808S, which lists 28+ services and no coding. If you prefer the Autel interface or need its specific coverage, the MK808S is the alternative.
Do updates cost extra? That depends on the exact listing and the maker's current terms, and they change. Some listings state a free update period or lifetime updates; others mention subscription renewal without terms. Read the listing and the maker's update policy before you buy. Our guide to scan tool updates and subscriptions explains what stops working when updates lapse.
Do these tools work on any car? They are built for 1996 and newer OBD2 vehicles, but function coverage varies by make, model and year. Advanced functions such as coding are only available on the makes each listing names.
What you need for this
See price on AmazonAmazonMaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
From Best Autel scanners: which MaxiDiag, MaxiCOM, MaxiCheck or MaxiSys to buy
See price on AmazonAmazonTopdon AD800BT 2: bidirectional, 28 resets, lifetime updates
From Best Topdon scanners: ArtiDiag, AD and Phoenix lines compared
See price on AmazonAmazonXTOOL D7S: CAN FD for newer GM, crankshaft relearn
See price on AmazonAmazonLaunch X431 PRO3 V+ Elite: J2534 and 10.1 in Gorilla Glass
From Best professional diagnostic tablets for a home garage or small shop