Gear guide
Best Autel scanners: which MaxiDiag, MaxiCOM, MaxiCheck or MaxiSys to buy
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
Active tests drive ABS, window, door, wiper and headlight actuators, per the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
MaxiDiag MD906 PRO: all systems, 11 services, $279
Lifetime WiFi updates with no extra charge are stated in the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
MaxiSys Elite II Pro: J2534 and MOTOR repair data
J2534 pass-thru for ECU programming with OEM online software, per the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Autel sells dozens of scanners, and the listings often say one model works the same as three others. The line names help. MaxiDiag (MD806, MD808, MD906) are all-system code readers with service resets but no listed active tests. MaxiCOM and MaxiCheck (MK808S, MX900, MK900BT) add bidirectional control and more services on an Android tablet, and the BT models use a wireless VCI. MaxiTPMS tools like the TS900 add tire sensor programming. MaxiSys (MS906 PRO, Elite II Pro) adds ECU coding and, on the top models, J2534 programming. This guide picks one or two models from each line and compares them by systems, active tests, service functions and connection, using only what each Amazon listing states, so you can match the line to the work you do.
Compare the picks
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services- Line
- MaxiCOM
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Yes, OE-level
- Service functions
- 28+
MaxiCheck MX900: 3000+ tests, 40+ services, CAN FD- Line
- MaxiCheck
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 40+
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services- Line
- MaxiCOM
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 40+
MaxiDiag MD906 PRO: all systems, 11 services, $279- Line
- MaxiDiag
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Not stated
- Service functions
- 11
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services- Line
- MaxiSys
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 36+
MaxiSys Elite II Pro: J2534 and MOTOR repair data- Line
- MaxiSys
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 40+
MaxiTPMS TS900: TPMS programming plus all-system scans- Line
- MaxiTPMS
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Not stated
- Service functions
- 40+ (title)
MaxiDiag MD808 PRO: all systems, 7 services- Line
- MaxiDiag
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Not stated
- Service functions
- 7
| Pick | Line | Systems | Active tests | Service functions | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services | MaxiCOM | All systems | Yes, OE-level | 28+ | - | Amazon |
MaxiCheck MX900: 3000+ tests, 40+ services, CAN FD | MaxiCheck | All systems | 3000+ | 40+ | - | Amazon |
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services | MaxiCOM | All systems | 3000+ | 40+ | - | Amazon |
MaxiDiag MD906 PRO: all systems, 11 services, $279 | MaxiDiag | All systems | Not stated | 11 | - | Amazon |
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services | MaxiSys | All systems | 3000+ | 36+ | - | Amazon |
MaxiSys Elite II Pro: J2534 and MOTOR repair data | MaxiSys | All systems | 3000+ | 40+ | - | Amazon |
MaxiTPMS TS900: TPMS programming plus all-system scans | MaxiTPMS | All systems | Not stated | 40+ (title) | - | Amazon |
MaxiDiag MD808 PRO: all systems, 7 services | MaxiDiag | All systems | Not stated | 7 | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Autel
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
See price on AmazonThe MaxiCOM MK808S is the middle of the Autel range: all-system scans, OE-level active tests and 28+ services on an Android 11 tablet. The right Autel for most home mechanics.
What the listing offers
- Active tests drive ABS, window, door, wiper and headlight actuators, per the listing.
- 28+ services across 150+ makes, with FCA AutoAuth and Renault SGW support.
- Covers all systems on 1996 to 2026 cars, according to the listing.
Limits to know
- The listing names no ECU coding, which is a MaxiSys feature.
- Update terms are not stated, and the listing mentions subscription renewals.

Pick 2 · Autel
MaxiCheck MX900: 3000+ tests, 40+ services, CAN FD
See price on AmazonThe MaxiCheck MX900 steps up from the MK808S with 3000+ active tests, 40+ services and CAN FD and DoIP. The listing calls it the US version of the MK900.
What the listing offers
- 3000+ active tests and up to 40+ services, more than the 28+ on the MK808S.
- CAN FD and DoIP plus FCA AutoAuth and Renault SGW, per the listing.
- Coverage of 15,000+ vehicles is stated in the listing.
Limits to know
- The listing does not describe a wireless VCI. The MK900BT is the wireless version.
- Update terms are not stated, and the listing mentions subscription renewals.

Pick 3 · Autel
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services
See price on AmazonThe wireless MaxiCOM, with the V150 Bluetooth VCI, an 8 inch screen, 3000+ active tests and 40+ services. Pick it over the MX900 if you want to move around the car.
What the listing offers
- The V150 Bluetooth VCI gives 33 ft of range, per the listing.
- 3000+ active tests and 40+ services, including ABS bleed and injector coding.
- CAN FD and DoIP protocol support are stated in the listing.
Limits to know
- ECU coding is not listed, so coding work points to the MaxiSys line.
- Update terms are not stated in the listing.

Pick 4 · Autel
MaxiDiag MD906 PRO: all systems, 11 services, $279
See price on AmazonThe top MaxiDiag code reader, with all-system scans, 11 services, CAN FD and FCA AutoAuth, and lifetime WiFi updates. The Autel to buy if you do not need active tests.
What the listing offers
- Lifetime WiFi updates with no extra charge are stated in the listing.
- 11 services, compared with 7 on the MD808 PRO and MD806.
- CAN FD and FCA AutoAuth support for newer GM and Chrysler group vehicles.
Limits to know
- Active tests are not listed, so it cannot command parts like the MaxiCOM tools.
- The listing's claim of matching the MK808S refers to diagnostics, not services.

Pick 5 · Autel
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services
See price on AmazonThe entry MaxiSys, adding online ECU coding and new ECU setup to 3000+ active tests and 36+ services, on an 8 inch 1920 x 1200 tablet. For owners who replace modules.
What the listing offers
- Online ECU coding is stated for 99% of mainstream cars.
- 8 inch 1920 x 1200 screen with an 8-core CPU, 4GB RAM and 128GB storage.
- 3000+ active tests, including transmission solenoids, per the listing.
Limits to know
- It lists fewer services than the cheaper MX900 and MK900BT.
- The listing mentions a subscription fee but gives no update terms.

Pick 6 · Autel
MaxiSys Elite II Pro: J2534 and MOTOR repair data
See price on AmazonThe pro end of the Autel line, with J2534 programming, MOTOR TruSpeed repair data, ECU coding, 3000+ tests and 2 years of updates. For small shops that program modules.
What the listing offers
- J2534 pass-thru for ECU programming with OEM online software, per the listing.
- MOTOR TruSpeed Repair data is built in, per the listing.
- 2 years of free updates are stated, more than other Autel listings here state.
Limits to know
- At $2,369 it is far beyond what a home mechanic needs for codes and resets.
- Screen size is not stated in the listing.

Pick 7 · Autel
MaxiTPMS TS900: TPMS programming plus all-system scans
See price on AmazonA three-in-one TPMS, diagnostic and service tablet. It reads, activates and relearns all known TPMS sensors and programs Autel MX-Sensors. Best if tires are part of your work.
What the listing offers
- Activates, reads and relearns all known TPMS sensors, including Tesla OE sensors.
- Programs Autel MX-Sensors four ways, including Copy by OBD and Auto Create.
- The wireless V150 VCI pairs over Bluetooth, per the listing.
Limits to know
- Active tests are not described in the listing.
- At $782 you pay for TPMS tools that a non-tire shop may not need.

Pick 8 · Autel
MaxiDiag MD808 PRO: all systems, 7 services
See price on AmazonAn older MaxiDiag all-system reader with 7 services, all 10 OBD2 modes and graphed live data. Consider it if you find it priced well below the MD906 PRO.
What the listing offers
- Scans engine, ABS, SRS, EPB and other systems to read and clear codes.
- All 10 OBD2 modes, including the O2 monitor test, are stated.
- Live data in text or graph form helps spot intermittent sensor faults.
Limits to know
- CAN FD and FCA AutoAuth are not listed, unlike the MD906 PRO.
- Only 7 services are listed, and update terms are not stated.
Read before you buy
- XTOOL D8 vs Autel MK900XTOOL D8 vs Autel MK900BT compared on listing facts: ECU coding, active tests, resets, wireless VCI, topology and protocols, plus a verdict on who buys which.
- XTOOL D7 vs Autel MK808SXTOOL D7S vs Autel MK808S compared on listing facts: ECU coding, active tests, resets, protocols and updates, with a clear verdict on who should buy which.
- TPMS relearn: the three methods and when each appliesTPMS relearn explained: auto, stationary and OBD relearn methods, when your car needs one, and why the TPMS light stays on after a tire rotation or new sensor.
- Topdon ArtiDiag Pro vs Autel MK808STopdon ArtiDiag Pro vs Autel MK808S compared on listing facts: bidirectional tests, ECU coding, service functions and gateway access, with a clear verdict.
- Scan tool updates and subscriptions: what you pay after year oneDo Autel and other scanners require a subscription? Update terms differ by brand and model. What updates add, what happens when they lapse, and how to update.
More gear: Choosing a scan tool
Code & Clear chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.