Gear guide
Best Topdon scanners: ArtiDiag, AD and Phoenix lines compared
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
Topdon AD800BT 2: bidirectional, 28 resets, lifetime updates
The listing states it was upgraded from 2 years to free lifetime updates, so there is no recurring software fee.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
Topdon ArtiDiag Pro: ECU coding and 35+ services
At $379.99 it is the cheapest ECU coding tool compared here.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
TOPDON ONE: 10.1 inch, J2534 pass-thru, 50+ services
The ONE VCI supports J2534, so it can work with OEM diagnostic software as a pass-thru.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Topdon sells a lot of scan tools with similar names, so the hard part is knowing which line fits your job. The AD500 and ArtiDiag600 tools read codes and run common resets but do not list bidirectional control. The AD800BT 2, AD900BT and ArtiDiag Pro add active tests, and the AD900BT and ArtiDiag Pro add ECU coding. The Phoenix tablets and the TOPDON ONE are shop-grade tools with bigger screens, more service functions and, on the ONE, J2534 pass-thru. This guide lines up eight Topdon models using only what each Amazon listing states: bidirectional control, number of reset services, ECU coding, FCA gateway access, screen and update terms. Update terms differ a lot across the line, from lifetime free to 2 years, so check that row before you buy.
Compare the picks
Topdon AD800BT 2: bidirectional, 28 resets, lifetime updates- Bidirectional
- Yes
- Reset services
- 28
- ECU coding
- Injector coding listed
- FCA AutoAuth
- Yes
Topdon Phoenix Plus 2: 10.1 inch, 40 resets, topology- Bidirectional
- Yes
- Reset services
- 40
- ECU coding
- Yes
- FCA AutoAuth
- Not stated
Topdon AD900BT: online ECU coding plus 28 services- Bidirectional
- Yes
- Reset services
- 28+
- ECU coding
- Online coding
- FCA AutoAuth
- Not stated
TOPDON ONE: 10.1 inch, J2534 pass-thru, 50+ services- Bidirectional
- Yes
- Reset services
- 50+
- ECU coding
- Yes, plus J2534 pass-thru
- FCA AutoAuth
- Not stated
Topdon ArtiDiag Pro: ECU coding and 35+ services- Bidirectional
- Yes
- Reset services
- 35+
- ECU coding
- Yes (VW, Audi, Skoda, Seat, Benz named)
- FCA AutoAuth
- Yes, 2017 and later
Topdon Phoenix Lite 2: 8 inch tablet, 34+ resets, coding- Bidirectional
- Yes
- Reset services
- 34+
- ECU coding
- Online/ECU coding
- FCA AutoAuth
- Yes
Topdon ArtiDiag600 Elite: full system, 13 services- Bidirectional
- Not stated
- Reset services
- 13 (9 hot + 4 advanced)
- ECU coding
- Not stated
- FCA AutoAuth
- Yes (FCA gateway access)
Topdon AD500: 4 systems, 6 resets, 5 inch screen- Bidirectional
- Not stated
- Reset services
- 6
- ECU coding
- Not stated
- FCA AutoAuth
- Yes (bypasses FCA Secure Gateway)
| Pick | Bidirectional | Reset services | ECU coding | FCA AutoAuth | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Topdon AD800BT 2: bidirectional, 28 resets, lifetime updates | Yes | 28 | Injector coding listed | Yes | - | Amazon |
Topdon Phoenix Plus 2: 10.1 inch, 40 resets, topology | Yes | 40 | Yes | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Topdon AD900BT: online ECU coding plus 28 services | Yes | 28+ | Online coding | Not stated | - | Amazon |
TOPDON ONE: 10.1 inch, J2534 pass-thru, 50+ services | Yes | 50+ | Yes, plus J2534 pass-thru | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Topdon ArtiDiag Pro: ECU coding and 35+ services | Yes | 35+ | Yes (VW, Audi, Skoda, Seat, Benz named) | Yes, 2017 and later | - | Amazon |
Topdon Phoenix Lite 2: 8 inch tablet, 34+ resets, coding | Yes | 34+ | Online/ECU coding | Yes | - | Amazon |
Topdon ArtiDiag600 Elite: full system, 13 services | Not stated | 13 (9 hot + 4 advanced) | Not stated | Yes (FCA gateway access) | - | Amazon |
Topdon AD500: 4 systems, 6 resets, 5 inch screen | Not stated | 6 | Not stated | Yes (bypasses FCA Secure Gateway) | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · TOPDON
Topdon AD800BT 2: bidirectional, 28 resets, lifetime updates
See price on AmazonA wireless bidirectional scanner with 28 reset services, FCA gateway access and free lifetime updates. The best fit for most DIYers and small shops who want active tests without a subscription.
What the listing offers
- The listing states it was upgraded from 2 years to free lifetime updates, so there is no recurring software fee.
- Bidirectional control sends commands to the ECU to run actuators, which helps confirm a failed part before buying it.
- 28 services include oil, SAS, EPB, TPMS, ABS bleeding, DPF regeneration, battery and throttle.
Limits to know
- The listing does not mention full ECU coding beyond injector coding; step up to the AD900BT for online coding.
- The listing does not state screen size, so compare it in photos if display size matters to you.

Pick 2 · TOPDON
Topdon Phoenix Plus 2: 10.1 inch, 40 resets, topology
See price on AmazonA 10.1 inch TOPDON tablet with OE-level topology, ECU coding, 40 resets and 2 years of free updates. A lower-priced entry into pro tablets for shops that do not need J2534.
What the listing offers
- Topology mapping shows control units in color with scan results, per the listing.
- 2 years of free updates and 40 reset services with ECU coding are stated.
- Android 10, 4GB RAM, 64GB ROM and an 8MP rear camera.
Limits to know
- J2534 pass-thru programming is not mentioned in the listing.
- The screen resolution is lower than the 1920 x 1200 panels on some Autel tablets.

Pick 3 · TOPDON
Topdon AD900BT: online ECU coding plus 28 services
See price on AmazonThe AD900BT adds online ECU coding to a wireless bidirectional scanner with 28 services. A fit for owners who want to code replacement parts or enable hidden functions.
What the listing offers
- Online ECU coding is listed for hidden functions, power balance matching and coding replacement parts.
- Bidirectional tests cover window, mirror, door lock and throttle functions according to the listing.
- The listing states a 6300mAh battery, which supports long sessions away from a charger.
Limits to know
- Updates are 2 years with no fee per the listing; check the current renewal price on the listing before buying.
- FCA AutoAuth is not mentioned in this listing, which matters for 2018+ Chrysler, Jeep and Dodge.

Pick 4 · TOPDON
TOPDON ONE: 10.1 inch, J2534 pass-thru, 50+ services
See price on AmazonThe pro pick: dual WiFi, 10.1 inch screen, 50+ services including ADAS calibration, CAN-FD and DoIP, and a VCI that works as a J2534 pass-thru with OEM software.
What the listing offers
- The ONE VCI supports J2534, so it can work with OEM diagnostic software as a pass-thru.
- CAN-FD and DoIP coverage is listed for 2013+ BMW, 2018+ Mercedes and 2020+ GM and Chrysler.
- Service list includes ADAS calibration, DPF regen, TPMS reset and ABS bleed.
Limits to know
- It is more tool than most DIYers need, and the price reflects shop use.
- The listing does not state update or subscription terms; confirm them before buying.

Pick 5 · TOPDON
Topdon ArtiDiag Pro: ECU coding and 35+ services
See price on AmazonThe lowest-priced coding tool in this guide, with ECU coding for VW group and Benz cars, bidirectional control and 35+ services. A fit for owners of those makes.
What the listing offers
- At $379.99 it is the cheapest ECU coding tool compared here.
- 35+ special functions, including oil reset and EPB service, per the listing.
- FCA AutoAuth for 2017 and newer Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge and Fiat vehicles.
Limits to know
- The listing says the Chrysler 12+8 and BMW-20 adapters are no longer in the box.
- Coding is listed for a short set of brands, so domestic owners should check coverage.

Pick 6 · TOPDON
Topdon Phoenix Lite 2: 8 inch tablet, 34+ resets, coding
See price on AmazonAn 8 inch TOPDON tablet whose listing names online and ECU coding for Benz, BMW, VW and Porsche, active tests and 34+ reset services, plus FCA AutoAuth.
What the listing offers
- The listing names online and ECU coding for Benz, useful for matching modules after replacement.
- 34+ reset services and OE-level diagnosis are listed.
- 8 inch 1280 x 800 screen and a 12600mAh battery are listed.
Limits to know
- It is a general all-makes tool, with no Mercedes-specific service list in the listing.
- Update terms are not stated, so check the listing before you buy.

Pick 7 · TOPDON
Topdon ArtiDiag600 Elite: full system, 13 services
See price on AmazonA full-system code reader with 13 services, Android 11, AutoVIN and FCA gateway access. A good fit for DIYers who want all-system codes but do not need active tests.
What the listing offers
- Full-system diagnosis covers all systems, not just engine, ABS, SRS and transmission.
- The listing states free software and coverage updates plus a 1 year warranty.
- FCA gateway access is listed for newer Chrysler, Jeep and Dodge vehicles.
Limits to know
- Bidirectional control is not listed, so you cannot command actuators.
- 13 services is fewer than the AD800BT 2, which costs more but adds active tests.

Pick 8 · TOPDON
Topdon AD500: 4 systems, 6 resets, 5 inch screen
See price on AmazonA four-system TOPDON scanner with 6 resets, a 5 inch touchscreen, CAN FD and FCA gateway access. Fits owners who mainly need to read and clear ABS and airbag codes.
What the listing offers
- Supports CAN FD and FCA Secure Gateway, including 2020 and newer GM and Chrysler models.
- Android 11 with a 4-core CPU, 2GB RAM and a 3350mAh battery, per the listing.
- Diagnostic reports can be sent by email, and data streams can be recorded.
Limits to know
- ABS bleeding is not among the 6 listed resets, so brake hydraulic work needs another tool.
- Only four systems are covered, so body and HVAC modules are out of reach.
Read before you buy
- Topdon ArtiDiag Pro vs Autel MK808STopdon ArtiDiag Pro vs Autel MK808S compared on listing facts: bidirectional tests, ECU coding, service functions and gateway access, with a clear verdict.
- Scan tool updates and subscriptions: what you pay after year oneDo Autel and other scanners require a subscription? Update terms differ by brand and model. What updates add, what happens when they lapse, and how to update.
- Autel vs Topdon scanners compared tier by tierAutel vs Topdon scan tools compared tier by tier: entry all-system scanners, bidirectional tools with coding, and pro tablets, with listing specs and a verdict.
More gear: Choosing a scan tool
Code & Clear chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.