Comparison
Autel vs Launch scanners: how the two lineups match up
Published
Short answer
Autel and Launch both cover every tier from basic scanners to pro tablets. At the entry level, the Autel MD808 PRO lists all-system diagnostics while the Launch CRP123X lists four systems. In the mid-range, the Launch CRP919X lists ECU coding and more services than the Autel MK808S. At the top, the Launch X431 PRO5 adds J2534 programming and topology to what the Autel MS906 PRO lists.

Autel
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
See price on Amazon
LAUNCH
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests
See price on Amazon
Autel
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services
See price on Amazon
LAUNCH
X431 PRO5: J2534, topology and 60+ services
See price on Amazon
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Yes, OE-level
- Service functions
- 28+
- Connection
- Not stated
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 4000+
- Service functions
- 35+
- Connection
- Not stated
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 36+
- Connection
- Not stated
X431 PRO5: J2534, topology and 60+ services- Systems
- All systems, 200+ brands
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 60+
- Connection
- SmartLink 2.0 J2534 VCI
| Pick | Systems | Active tests | Service functions | Connection | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services | All systems | Yes, OE-level | 28+ | Not stated | - | Amazon |
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests | All systems | 4000+ | 35+ | Not stated | - | Amazon |
MaxiSys MS906 PRO: ECU coding, 36+ services | All systems | 3000+ | 36+ | Not stated | - | Amazon |
X431 PRO5: J2534, topology and 60+ services | All systems, 200+ brands | 3000+ | 60+ | SmartLink 2.0 J2534 VCI | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
Verdict
For most DIYers the mid-range tier decides it: the Launch CRP919X lists ECU coding, CAN FD and more services than the Autel MK808S at the same price, so it is the better value on paper. Pick the Autel MD808 PRO for a budget all-system scanner, and the Launch X431 PRO5 over the MS906 PRO if you need J2534 programming.
Autel and Launch are two of the biggest names in aftermarket scan tools, and both sell a confusing number of models. This page lines up the two lineups tier by tier so you can compare like with like: an entry scanner that reads all systems, a bidirectional mid-range tool for serious DIY work, and a pro tablet for shops. Every spec in the tables comes from the Amazon listing text for that model. Where a listing does not say something, we write Not stated rather than guess.
How the Autel and Launch lineups are organized
Autel splits its scanners into families. MaxiDiag (MD) models are code readers and all-system scanners. MaxiCOM and MaxiCheck (MK and MX) models are Android tablets with bidirectional control. MaxiSys (MS) models are the pro tablets with ECU coding. The Autel scanner guide covers the current picks in each family.
Launch uses the Creader and CRP names for its handheld and tablet scanners, and X431 for the higher tiers, though the CRP919X carries both names. The X431 PRO line holds the pro tablets with coding and programming. The Launch scanner guide lists the models worth a look.
Because the families do not line up perfectly, the fairest comparison is by price and job: what each brand offers for a basic all-system scan, for bidirectional tests and resets, and for pro-level coding and programming.
Tier by tier comparison table
The table pairs one model per brand in each tier. Specs come only from each product's listing text. Prices are listing prices at the time of writing and change often.
| Tier | Autel model | Launch model | Key listed difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry all-system | MaxiDiag MD808 PRO ($259): all-system diagnostics, 7+ services, all 10 OBD2 modes | CRP123X V3.0 Elite ($189): 4 systems (engine, transmission, ABS, SRS), 7 resets, lifetime update in title | Autel lists all systems; Launch lists 4 systems at a lower price |
| Bidirectional mid-range | MaxiCOM MK808S ($449): active tests, 28+ services, 150+ makes, FCA AutoAuth | X431 CRP919X ($449): 4000+ active tests, 35+ services, ECU coding, CAN FD and DoIP | Launch lists ECU coding and CAN FD/DoIP; Autel listing does not |
| Pro tablet | MaxiSys MS906 PRO ($1,369): ECU coding, 3000+ active tests, 36+ services, 8 in screen | X431 PRO5 ($1,499): J2534 programming, online and offline coding, topology, 60+ services | Launch lists J2534 programming and topology mapping |
Entry tier: Autel MD808 PRO vs Launch CRP123X
The Autel MD808 PRO listing says it scans all available systems, such as engine, ABS, SRS, EPB and EPS, with read and clear codes, ECU info and live data in text or graph form. It lists 7+ service functions including oil reset, EPB, SAS and DPF regeneration, plus all 10 OBD2 test modes and an O2 sensor monitor test.
The Launch CRP123X V3.0 Elite is cheaper and narrower. Its listing describes deep diagnostics on four systems: engine, transmission, ABS and SRS. It lists 7 reset services, AutoVIN, graphic live data with playback, FCA secure gateway support, and CAN FD and DoIP readiness with an adapter. Its title states lifetime updates.
Neither entry listing claims bidirectional active tests, so treat both as read, clear and reset tools. If you want to see body, HVAC or other modules beyond the main four, the Autel's all-system coverage is the deciding point. If engine, transmission, ABS and airbag codes are all you need, the Launch costs less. Our DIY scanner guide covers more options in this range.
Mid-range: Autel MK808S vs Launch CRP919X
This is where most home mechanics should shop, because it is the first tier with real bidirectional control. If you are unsure what that means, read what a bidirectional scan tool is first.
The Autel MK808S listing describes OE-level active tests on components such as ABS, windows, door locks, wipers and headlights, 28+ service functions, 150+ supported makes, FCA AutoAuth and Renault gateway access, and an Android 11 tablet with a 4-core 1.8GHz processor. It does not mention ECU coding or CAN FD and DoIP.
The Launch CRP919X listing claims 4000+ active tests, 35+ services including EPB, oil, DPF, SAS, TPMS, BMS, injector and throttle functions, ECU coding for hidden features and module installs, 150+ brands, CAN FD, DoIP and FCA gateway access without an extra adapter. On paper it lists more than the MK808S at the same price. A wireless version, the CRP919XBT, adds a Bluetooth VCI for a higher price.
Note.Active tests move real parts. Keep hands, tools and loose clothing clear of fans, belts, wipers and windows, and follow the on-screen conditions for each test.
Pro tablet: Autel MS906 PRO vs Launch X431 PRO5
The Autel MaxiSys MS906 PRO listing describes an 8-inch 1920x1200 tablet with an 8-core CPU, Android 10 and 4GB plus 128GB memory. It lists advanced and online ECU coding, 3000+ active tests and 36+ service functions such as oil reset, ABS bleed, injector coding and throttle relearn.
The Launch X431 PRO5 listing goes further on paper. It includes a SmartLink 2.0 VCI that the listing says works as a J2534 pass-thru box for online module programming, online and offline ECU coding, a topology map of the vehicle network, 60+ service functions, 3000+ active tests and coverage of 200+ brands.
At this level the choice usually comes down to the software you already know and the coding and programming you need on the makes you see most. If you are new to coding, read what ECU coding is before you pay for it. Our professional tablet guide compares more options.
Which brand fits which buyer
Whatever tier you buy in, check vehicle coverage for your exact make, model and year on the maker's site. Two tools can both claim 150+ brands and still differ on the functions available for one car.
- Reading codes on all modules on a budget: Autel MD808 PRO
- Engine, transmission, ABS and airbag codes only, lowest price: Launch CRP123X
- Bidirectional tests and resets with coding listed at the same price: Launch CRP919X
- Bidirectional tests in Autel's MaxiCOM interface without coding needs: Autel MK808S
- Shop tablet with J2534 programming and topology listed: Launch X431 PRO5
- Shop tablet with coding and 3000+ active tests from Autel: Autel MS906 PRO
Frequently asked questions
Is Autel or Launch better overall? Neither wins every tier. In the listings compared here, Launch lists more functions at the mid-range and pro levels, while Autel lists all-system coverage at the entry level where the Launch CRP123X lists four systems. Pick by tier and by the functions you need.
Which is better for a home mechanic? Most home mechanics are best served by the mid-range tier. The Autel MK808S and Launch CRP919X both list bidirectional tests and common service resets at the same listing price. The CRP919X also lists ECU coding.
Do updates cost extra? That depends on the exact listing and the maker's current terms, and they change. Some listings state a free update period or lifetime updates; others mention subscription renewal without terms. Read the listing and the maker's update policy before you buy. Our guide to scan tool updates and subscriptions explains what stops working when updates lapse.
Do I need a pro tablet like the MS906 PRO or X431 PRO5? Only if you code or program modules regularly, work on many makes, or run a shop. For diagnosis, active tests and service resets on your own cars, a mid-range tool covers most jobs.
What you need for this
See price on AmazonAmazonMaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
From Best Autel scanners: which MaxiDiag, MaxiCOM, MaxiCheck or MaxiSys to buy
See price on AmazonAmazonX431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests
See price on AmazonAmazonXTOOL D7S: CAN FD for newer GM, crankshaft relearn
See price on AmazonAmazonLaunch X431 PRO3 V+ Elite: J2534 and 10.1 in Gorilla Glass
From Best professional diagnostic tablets for a home garage or small shop