Gear guide
Best Launch scanners: Creader, CRP and X431 compared
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests
4000+ active tests are stated, matching what the listing calls X431-level tests.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
CRP123X V3.0 Elite: 4 systems and 7 resets for $189
7 resets include oil, ABS bleed, SRS, throttle, EPB, BMS and DPF.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
X431 PRO5: J2534, topology and 60+ services
SmartLink 2.0 works as a J2534 pass-thru box for online flashing, per the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Launch names its scanners in three tiers, and knowing them saves a lot of listing reading. Creader Elite models are compact handhelds, often built for one brand, like the X500 for Toyota and Lexus. The CRP line covers four-system readers such as the CRP123X and CRP 129 EVO+, up to the CRP919X family, which adds ECU coding, 4000+ active tests and, on the BT models, a wireless VCI. The X431 line is the shop tier: PRO Dyno and PROS V tablets with online and offline coding, and the PRO5 with a J2534 pass-thru box and topology mapping. This guide picks seven Launch scanners across those tiers and compares systems covered, active tests, service functions, ECU coding and connection, using only what each Amazon listing states.
Compare the picks
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests- Series
- CRP
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 4000+
- Service functions
- 35+
X431 CRP919XBT: wireless, ECU coding, 35+ resets- Series
- CRP
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Yes (count not stated)
- Service functions
- 35+
X431 PRO Dyno: 33 ft wireless, ECU coding, 200+ brands- Series
- X431
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Yes (count not stated)
- Service functions
- 38+
X431 PRO5: J2534, topology and 60+ services- Series
- X431
- Systems
- All systems, 200+ brands
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 60+
Creader Elite X500: Toyota and Lexus bidirectional- Series
- Creader
- Systems
- All modules, Toyota and Lexus
- Active tests
- Yes
- Service functions
- Not stated
CRP123X V3.0 Elite: 4 systems and 7 resets for $189- Series
- CRP
- Systems
- Engine, transmission, ABS, SRS
- Active tests
- Not stated
- Service functions
- 7
CRP 129 EVO+ V3: 4 systems, 13 services, add-on modules- Series
- CRP
- Systems
- Engine, transmission, ABS, SRS
- Active tests
- Not stated
- Service functions
- 13
| Pick | Series | Systems | Active tests | Service functions | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests | CRP | All systems | 4000+ | 35+ | - | Amazon |
X431 CRP919XBT: wireless, ECU coding, 35+ resets | CRP | All systems | Yes (count not stated) | 35+ | - | Amazon |
X431 PRO Dyno: 33 ft wireless, ECU coding, 200+ brands | X431 | All systems | Yes (count not stated) | 38+ | - | Amazon |
X431 PRO5: J2534, topology and 60+ services | X431 | All systems, 200+ brands | 3000+ | 60+ | - | Amazon |
Creader Elite X500: Toyota and Lexus bidirectional | Creader | All modules, Toyota and Lexus | Yes | Not stated | - | Amazon |
CRP123X V3.0 Elite: 4 systems and 7 resets for $189 | CRP | Engine, transmission, ABS, SRS | Not stated | 7 | - | Amazon |
CRP 129 EVO+ V3: 4 systems, 13 services, add-on modules | CRP | Engine, transmission, ABS, SRS | Not stated | 13 | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · LAUNCH
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests
See price on AmazonThe non-wireless CRP919X, with ECU coding, 4000+ active tests and 35+ services. A good choice if you work at the driver seat and want to save over the BT version.
What the listing offers
- 4000+ active tests are stated, matching what the listing calls X431-level tests.
- ECU coding for new modules, sensor faults and hidden features, per the listing.
- CAN FD, DoIP and FCA SGW access with no extra adapters.
Limits to know
- The listing does not describe a wireless VCI, so expect a cable link.
- Update terms are not stated in the listing.

Pick 2 · LAUNCH
X431 CRP919XBT: wireless, ECU coding, 35+ resets
See price on AmazonA wireless Launch tablet with a DBSCar VII VCI, bidirectional control, 35+ resets and ECU coding. Good for working away from the port during active tests on newer cars.
What the listing offers
- The wireless VCI lets you run tests from the workbench or anywhere around the vehicle.
- ECU coding with online coding for VW, Audi, Skoda, Ford, Lincoln and Mazda is stated.
- Supports FCA AutoAuth, CAN FD and DoIP for late-model vehicles.
Limits to know
- The listing does not state how many active tests are supported.
- Update terms are not stated, so confirm them on the listing before you buy.

Pick 3 · LAUNCH
X431 PRO Dyno: 33 ft wireless, ECU coding, 200+ brands
See price on AmazonThe entry X431 tablet, with a 33 ft wireless DBScar VII link, a USB-C port for stable coding, ECU coding, 38+ functions and coverage for 200+ brands.
What the listing offers
- 33 ft wireless range plus a USB-C port for coding work, per the listing.
- ECU coding for relearning new ECUs and writing adaptive data.
- Coverage of 200+ brands, with CAN FD and DoIP, is stated.
Limits to know
- The listing does not give an active test count.
- Update terms are not stated in the listing.

Pick 4 · LAUNCH
X431 PRO5: J2534, topology and 60+ services
See price on AmazonThe top of the Launch line here, with a SmartLink 2.0 J2534 box, online and offline coding, a real-time topology map, 60+ services and 3000+ active tests. For small shops.
What the listing offers
- SmartLink 2.0 works as a J2534 pass-thru box for online flashing, per the listing.
- Real-time topology map shows bus layout and DTC counts per module.
- 60+ services and 3000+ active tests, the most in the Launch range here.
Limits to know
- At $1,499 it is more than most home mechanics need.
- Screen size and update terms are not stated in the listing.

Pick 5 · LAUNCH
Creader Elite X500: Toyota and Lexus bidirectional
See price on AmazonA brand-specific Creader built for Toyota and Lexus, with full-system access, active tests and free maintenance resets on a 4 inch screen. Fits single-brand households.
What the listing offers
- Full-system access to Toyota and Lexus modules, including ECM, TCM, ABS and SRS.
- Active tests run fuel pumps, radiator fans, windows, mirrors and lights.
- Android 8.1 with 64GB memory and a 3000mAh battery, per the listing.
Limits to know
- It is built for Toyota and Lexus, so it is a poor fit for mixed-brand garages.
- The 4 inch screen is small next to the CRP and X431 tablets.

Pick 6 · LAUNCH
CRP123X V3.0 Elite: 4 systems and 7 resets for $189
See price on AmazonLaunch's four-system handheld with 7 resets including ABS bleed, AutoVIN, graphed live data and shareable reports. The budget Launch for engine, transmission, ABS and SRS codes.
What the listing offers
- 7 resets include oil, ABS bleed, SRS, throttle, EPB, BMS and DPF.
- Supports 90+ brands and 2018 and newer FCA SGW vehicles, per the listing.
- Full reports can be saved to the cloud, printed or emailed.
Limits to know
- Only four systems are covered, so body modules are out of reach.
- CAN FD and DoIP need an adapter, according to the listing.

Pick 7 · LAUNCH
CRP 129 EVO+ V3: 4 systems, 13 services, add-on modules
See price on AmazonA four-system Android CRP with 13 services, a 5 inch screen and a 6,000mAh battery. It works with optional BST-360 battery and i-TPMS modules for battery and tire sensor jobs.
What the listing offers
- 13 services include injector coding, AdBlue, transmission adaptation and ABS bleed.
- Compatible with optional BST-360 battery and i-TPMS modules, per the listing.
- A 6,000mAh battery and dual-band WiFi are stated.
Limits to know
- CAN FD and DoIP need adapters sold separately, per the listing.
- Four systems only, and it costs more than the CRP123X for the extra services.
Read before you buy
- Scan tool updates and subscriptions: what you pay after year oneDo Autel and other scanners require a subscription? Update terms differ by brand and model. What updates add, what happens when they lapse, and how to update.
- Launch X431 PRO Elite vs Autel MS906 ProLaunch X431 PRO3 V+ Elite vs Autel MS906 Pro compared from listing facts: J2534, ECU coding, services, screen, battery and price, with a clear verdict.
- Autel vs Launch scanners: how the two lineups match upAutel vs Launch scan tools compared tier by tier: entry all-system scanners, bidirectional mid-range tools and pro tablets, with listing specs and a verdict.
- Autel MK900 vs Launch CRP919XAutel MK900BT vs Launch CRP919X compared on listing facts: active tests, services, ECU coding, wireless VCI and protocols, with a clear verdict on who buys which.
More gear: Choosing a scan tool
Code & Clear chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.