Comparison
Autel MK900 vs Launch CRP919X
Published
Short answer
The Launch CRP919X lists ECU coding, 4000+ active tests and 35+ services for less money, so it is the better pick if coding matters. The Autel MK900BT lists a Bluetooth VCI, 3000+ active tests and 40+ services but does not mention coding. If you want wireless use from Launch too, the CRP919XBT adds a Bluetooth VCI and still lists coding.

Autel
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services
See price on Amazon
LAUNCH
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests
See price on Amazon
LAUNCH
X431 CRP919XBT: wireless, ECU coding, 35+ resets
See price on Amazon
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 40+
- Connection
- V150 Bluetooth, 33 ft
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 4000+
- Service functions
- 35+
- Connection
- Not stated
X431 CRP919XBT: wireless, ECU coding, 35+ resets- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Yes (count not stated)
- Service functions
- 35+
- Connection
- Wireless DBSCar VII VCI
| Pick | Systems | Active tests | Service functions | Connection | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services | All systems | 3000+ | 40+ | V150 Bluetooth, 33 ft | - | Amazon |
X431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests | All systems | 4000+ | 35+ | Not stated | - | Amazon |
X431 CRP919XBT: wireless, ECU coding, 35+ resets | All systems | Yes (count not stated) | 35+ | Wireless DBSCar VII VCI | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
Verdict
Buy the Launch CRP919X if you want ECU coding and the most listed active tests for the least money, or the CRP919XBT for coding plus a wireless VCI. Buy the Autel MK900BT if you want a Bluetooth VCI, 40+ services and Autel's interface and do not need coding.
The Autel MaxiCOM MK900 and the Launch X431 CRP919X are two of the most popular bidirectional tablets for serious DIYers and small shops, and they sit at similar prices. This page compares the Autel MK900BT, the current Bluetooth version of the MK900 in our guides, with the Launch CRP919X and its wireless sibling the CRP919XBT. All specs come from the Amazon listings, and anything a listing leaves out is marked Not stated.
Spec comparison from the listings
Specs come only from each listing. Prices are listing prices at the time of writing and change often.
The CRP919XBT listing describes it as an upgrade of the CRP919X that adds a wireless VCI for cable-free data transfer. That is why both Launch models appear in the table: one is the direct price rival to the MK900BT, the other its direct wireless rival.
| Spec | Autel MK900BT | Launch CRP919X | Launch CRP919XBT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Listing price | $619.00 | $449.00 | $529.00 |
| Connection | V150 Bluetooth VCI, 33 ft | Not stated | DBScar VII wireless VCI |
| Active tests | 3000+ | 4000+ | Bidirectional (count not stated) |
| Service functions | 40+ | 35+ | 35+ |
| ECU coding | Not stated | Yes | Yes, incl. online coding for VW, Audi, Skoda, Ford, Lincoln, Mazda |
| CAN FD and DoIP | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| FCA secure gateway | Not stated | Yes, no extra adapter | Yes |
| Brand coverage | Not stated | 150+ brands | Not stated |
| Screen | 8 in (from title) | Not stated | Not stated |
Diagnostics and active tests
Both tools scan all available systems, read and clear codes and show live data. The MK900BT listing describes OE-level diagnosis of ECM, TCM, ABS, SRS, BCM, A/C and BMS systems with Auto Scan 2.0 and 3000+ active tests. The CRP919X listing describes an all-system scan for 8000+ OE and generic codes, live data in text and graphs, and 4000+ active tests that drive relays, injectors, coils, solenoids and actuators.
Active test counts are maker figures and are not directly comparable, because each brand counts tests differently and the tests available depend on the vehicle. What matters is whether the tests you need are covered on your car. Check each maker's coverage list. For background, see what a bidirectional scan tool is.
Note.Active tests move real parts. Keep hands, tools and loose clothing clear of fans, belts, wipers and windows, and follow the conditions the tool shows before each test.
ECU coding: the biggest difference
The CRP919X listing states ECU coding for jobs such as fixing sensor and actuator faults after a module change, installing new modules and turning hidden features on or off. The CRP919XBT listing adds online coding for VW, Audi, Skoda, Ford, Lincoln and Mazda, plus guided access for VW group vehicles without looking up security codes.
The MK900BT listing compared here does not mention ECU coding. If you plan to retrofit features, replace modules or adapt new parts on supported makes, the Launch is the one whose listing states it. Read what ECU coding is to see whether you actually need it, and see our ECU coding tool guide for more options.
Note.Coding changes how a module behaves. Back up the original settings when the tool offers it, keep the battery voltage stable with a maintainer, and if you are unsure, leave coding to a professional.
Wireless use and protocols
The MK900BT uses a V150 Bluetooth VCI that its listing rates for 33 feet, so you can run tests from the driver's seat or under the hood without a cable. The CRP919X listing does not mention a wireless connector. Launch's wireless answer is the CRP919XBT, which uses a DBScar VII VCI and costs less than the MK900BT at listing prices.
All three list CAN FD and DoIP, which many newer vehicles need for communication. The CRP919X also states FCA secure gateway access without an extra adapter. For more wireless options across brands, see the wireless scan tool guide.
Who should buy which
Our Launch scanner guide and Autel scanner guide cover the rest of each lineup, and Autel vs Launch compares the brands tier by tier.
- You want ECU coding at the lowest price: Launch CRP919X
- You want ECU coding and a wireless VCI: Launch CRP919XBT
- You want a Bluetooth VCI and the largest listed service count, without coding: Autel MK900BT
- You already use Autel tools in your shop and want the same interface: Autel MK900BT
Frequently asked questions
Is the Launch CRP919X better than the Autel MK900? On listing facts it offers more for less: ECU coding and 4000+ active tests at a lower price. The MK900BT lists more services and a Bluetooth VCI. Which is better depends on whether you need coding or wireless use.
Does the Autel MK900BT do ECU coding? Its listing does not mention coding. Autel's MaxiSys tablets such as the MS906 PRO list coding at a higher price.
Do updates cost extra? That depends on the exact listing and the maker's current terms, which change. Some listings state a free update period; others only mention subscription renewal. Check the listing and the maker's update policy before you buy, and see scan tool updates and subscriptions for what stops working when updates lapse.
Which one works on my car? Both list wide coverage, but functions vary by make, model and year. Check each maker's coverage list for your vehicle before buying.
What you need for this
See price on AmazonAmazonX431 CRP919X: wired coding tool with 4000+ tests
See price on AmazonAmazonMaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
From Best Autel scanners: which MaxiDiag, MaxiCOM, MaxiCheck or MaxiSys to buy
See price on AmazonAmazonXTOOL D7S: CAN FD for newer GM, crankshaft relearn