Comparison
Autel MK808S vs MK900: is the upgrade worth it
Published
Short answer
The MK900 is worth the extra money if you work on newer vehicles or want wireless use. The MK900BT listing states a Bluetooth VCI, CAN FD and DoIP support, 3000+ active tests and 40+ services, while the MK808S listing states 28+ services and does not mention CAN FD, DoIP or a wireless connector. For older cars and common resets, the MK808S does the core jobs for less.

Autel
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
See price on Amazon
Autel
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services
See price on Amazon
Autel
MaxiCheck MX900: 3000+ tests, 40+ services, CAN FD
See price on Amazon
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services- Line
- MaxiCOM
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- Yes, OE-level
- Service functions
- 28+
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services- Line
- MaxiCOM
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 40+
MaxiCheck MX900: 3000+ tests, 40+ services, CAN FD- Line
- MaxiCheck
- Systems
- All systems
- Active tests
- 3000+
- Service functions
- 40+
| Pick | Line | Systems | Active tests | Service functions | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
MaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services | MaxiCOM | All systems | Yes, OE-level | 28+ | - | Amazon |
MaxiCOM MK900BT: wireless V150 VCI, 40+ services | MaxiCOM | All systems | 3000+ | 40+ | - | Amazon |
MaxiCheck MX900: 3000+ tests, 40+ services, CAN FD | MaxiCheck | All systems | 3000+ | 40+ | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
Verdict
Buy the MK808S if you mainly work on older vehicles and want bidirectional tests and common resets for less. Upgrade to the MK900BT if you want wireless use plus CAN FD and DoIP for newer vehicles, or choose the MX900 for the same listed protocols and 40+ services at a lower price without a stated Bluetooth VCI.
The Autel MaxiCOM MK808S and MK900 sit next to each other in Autel's tablet lineup, and Autel's own listings describe the MK900 as an upgrade. This page compares the MK808S with the MK900BT, the current Bluetooth version of the MK900 in our guides, and also notes the MaxiCheck MX900, which its listing calls the US version of the MK900. Every spec comes from listing text. Where a listing is silent, we write Not stated.
The main differences in brief
CAN FD and DoIP are newer communication protocols. CAN FD is used on many newer GM vehicles, and DoIP on many newer BMW, Volvo and Jaguar Land Rover vehicles. If you own or work on those vehicles, protocol support can decide whether a tool connects at all.
- Wireless: the MK900BT lists a V150 Bluetooth VCI with up to 33 feet of range. The MK808S listing does not mention a wireless connector.
- Protocols: the MK900BT and MX900 list CAN FD and DoIP. The MK808S listing does not.
- Services: 40+ on the MK900BT and MX900, 28+ on the MK808S.
- Active tests: the MK900BT and MX900 list 3000+. The MK808S lists OE-level active tests without a count.
- Price: $449 for the MK808S, $559 for the MX900 and $619 for the MK900BT at listing prices.
Spec comparison from the listings
Facts below come only from each listing. Prices change often.
| Spec | MK808S | MK900BT | MX900 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Listing price | $449.00 | $619.00 | $559.00 |
| Connection | Not stated | V150 Bluetooth VCI, 33 ft | Not stated |
| CAN FD and DoIP | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Secure gateway | FCA AutoAuth, Renault SGW | Not stated | FCA AutoAuth, Renault SGW |
| Active tests | OE-level (count not stated) | 3000+ | 3000+ |
| Service functions | 28+ | 40+ | 40+ |
| Coverage | 150+ makes | Not stated | 15,000+ vehicles |
| Screen | Not stated | 8 in (from title) | Not stated |
| Processor and OS | Android 11, 4-core 1.8GHz | Not stated | Not stated |
What you get with either tool
Both are Android tablets that scan all available modules, read and clear codes, show live data and freeze frame, and run bidirectional active tests. Active tests let you command a part, such as a cooling fan, window motor or ABS valve, to check whether the part or its circuit is at fault before you buy anything. Our explainer on bidirectional scan tools shows how this helps.
Both list the common service resets: oil reset, EPB, SAS and BMS among them. Coverage of each function depends on make, model and year, so check Autel's coverage list for your car before you buy either tool.
Note.Active tests move real parts. Keep hands, tools and loose clothing clear of fans, belts, wipers and windows, and follow the conditions the tool shows before each test.
When the MK900 upgrade pays off
The upgrade makes sense in three situations. First, if you work on newer vehicles that use CAN FD or DoIP, because the MK900BT and MX900 list those protocols and the MK808S listing does not. Second, if you want to move around the car or run tests from the driver's seat without a cable, which the MK900BT's Bluetooth VCI allows. Third, if a reset you need is among the extra services in the 40+ list.
If you mostly work on older vehicles, do routine maintenance resets and do not mind a cable, the MK808S does the same core diagnostic jobs. The money saved could go toward a multimeter or a code-specific part. Neither listing mentions ECU coding; if you need it, see the ECU coding tool guide and our explainer on what ECU coding is.
MK900BT or MX900?
The MX900 listing describes itself as the 2026 US version of the MK900 and MK900BT, with CAN FD, DoIP, FCA AutoAuth, Renault gateway access, 3000+ active tests and 40+ services. It costs less than the MK900BT. The MX900 listing does not mention a Bluetooth VCI, so if wireless use matters, the MK900BT is the one whose listing states it. For more wireless options, see our wireless scan tool guide.
Frequently asked questions
Is the MK900 better than the MK808S? On listing facts, yes: it adds CAN FD and DoIP, 40+ services instead of 28+, and on the MK900BT a Bluetooth VCI. Whether that is worth the price depends on your vehicles.
Do I need CAN FD and DoIP? Only for vehicles that use them. Many newer GM vehicles use CAN FD, and many newer BMW and similar platforms use DoIP. For most older vehicles they do not matter.
Do updates cost extra? That depends on the exact listing and the maker's current terms, which change. Some listings state a free update period; others only mention subscription renewal. Check the listing and the maker's update policy before you buy, and see scan tool updates and subscriptions for what stops working when updates lapse.
Can either tool do ECU coding? Neither listing compared here mentions ECU coding. For coding, look at tools whose listings state it, such as those in our bidirectional scan tool guide and coding guide.
What you need for this
See price on AmazonAmazonMaxiCOM MK808S: bidirectional, 28+ services
From Best Autel scanners: which MaxiDiag, MaxiCOM, MaxiCheck or MaxiSys to buy
See price on AmazonAmazonXTOOL D7W: WiFi VCI, 4000+ active tests
See price on AmazonAmazonXTOOL D7S: CAN FD for newer GM, crankshaft relearn