Gear guide
Best battery testers with built-in diagnostics
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
Autel BT608 (E): 100-3000 CCA plus full-system scan
The listing states a 100 to 3000 CCA test range, wider than the BT508 and BT506.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
FOXWELL NT510 Pro for GM: scanner plus 12V tester
Full-system GM diagnosis from engine to ABS, airbags and TPMS is listed.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
Autel BT609: 7 inch tablet, battery test plus services
The listing states in-vehicle tests for battery, starter and generator, plus out-of-vehicle testing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
A slow crank can be a weak battery, a bad alternator or a module that will not let the car sleep. A plain voltmeter cannot tell those apart. A conductance battery tester checks cold cranking ability, and the better ones also run cranking and charging tests. The tools in this guide go a step further and add scan functions, so you can read codes, register a new battery and run resets from the same device. This guide compares six listings: Autel's BT508, BT608 (E) and BT609, a FOXWELL GM scanner with a battery tester built in, and two testers without their own scan functions for comparison. We compare the stated CCA range, test types, scan coverage and battery registration support. Scan coverage varies a lot here. One listing limits diagnosis to a single vehicle brand, so read that line before you buy.
Compare the picks
Autel BT608 (E): 100-3000 CCA plus full-system scan- Type
- Battery tester and scan tablet
- Battery test (per listing)
- 6V/12V, 100 to 3000 CCA
- Scan functions (per listing)
- Full-system diagnosis similar to MK808/MX808
- Cranking and charging
- 12V and 24V systems
Autel BT609: 7 inch tablet, battery test plus services- Type
- Wireless battery tester and scan tablet
- Battery test (per listing)
- In-vehicle and out-of-vehicle, CCA and reserve capacity
- Scan functions (per listing)
- Engine, transmission, ABS, SRS; oil, EPB, TPMS, BMS, IMMO
- Cranking and charging
- Starter and generator tests
FOXWELL NT510 Pro for GM: scanner plus 12V tester- Type
- GM scanner with battery tester
- Battery test (per listing)
- 12V, state of health and state of charge
- Scan functions (per listing)
- Full system for GM, bidirectional, 20+ resets
- Cranking and charging
- Not stated
Autel BT508: battery tester, one-brand scan- Type
- Battery tester with scan
- Battery test (per listing)
- 6V/12V, many standards incl. CCA, SAE, EN, DIN, JIS
- Scan functions (per listing)
- All systems for one vehicle brand only
- Cranking and charging
- Cranking and generator tests
Autel BT506: 100-2000 CCA tester, pairs with Autel- Type
- Battery tester (no built-in scan)
- Battery test (per listing)
- 6V/12V, 100 to 2000 CCA
- Scan functions (per listing)
- None built in; works with many Autel wireless scanners
- Cranking and charging
- Cranking and charging system tests
TOPDON BT600 Plus: 6/12/24V tester with printer- Type
- Battery tester (no built-in scan)
- Battery test (per listing)
- 6V, 12V and 24V; resistance test
- Scan functions (per listing)
- None stated
- Cranking and charging
- Cranking and charging tests
| Pick | Type | Battery test (per listing) | Scan functions (per listing) | Cranking and charging | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Autel BT608 (E): 100-3000 CCA plus full-system scan | Battery tester and scan tablet | 6V/12V, 100 to 3000 CCA | Full-system diagnosis similar to MK808/MX808 | 12V and 24V systems | - | Amazon |
Autel BT609: 7 inch tablet, battery test plus services | Wireless battery tester and scan tablet | In-vehicle and out-of-vehicle, CCA and reserve capacity | Engine, transmission, ABS, SRS; oil, EPB, TPMS, BMS, IMMO | Starter and generator tests | - | Amazon |
FOXWELL NT510 Pro for GM: scanner plus 12V tester | GM scanner with battery tester | 12V, state of health and state of charge | Full system for GM, bidirectional, 20+ resets | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Autel BT508: battery tester, one-brand scan | Battery tester with scan | 6V/12V, many standards incl. CCA, SAE, EN, DIN, JIS | All systems for one vehicle brand only | Cranking and generator tests | - | Amazon |
Autel BT506: 100-2000 CCA tester, pairs with Autel | Battery tester (no built-in scan) | 6V/12V, 100 to 2000 CCA | None built in; works with many Autel wireless scanners | Cranking and charging system tests | - | Amazon |
TOPDON BT600 Plus: 6/12/24V tester with printer | Battery tester (no built-in scan) | 6V, 12V and 24V; resistance test | None stated | Cranking and charging tests | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Autel
Autel BT608 (E): 100-3000 CCA plus full-system scan
See price on AmazonA 2-in-1 battery tester and full-system scan tool. The listing names a 100 to 3000 CCA range, adaptive conductance, cranking and charging tests and diagnosis similar to Autel's MK808 and MX808.
What the listing offers
- The listing states a 100 to 3000 CCA test range, wider than the BT508 and BT506.
- Full-system diagnosis similar to the MaxiCOM MK808 and MX808 is listed, so it covers more than battery jobs.
- Lifetime free updates are stated in the listing.
Limits to know
- The listing does not detail which service resets beyond electrical functions are included.
- Costs about twice the BT508. That matters if you only need to test batteries.

Pick 2 · Autel
Autel BT609: 7 inch tablet, battery test plus services
See price on AmazonA wireless 7 inch Android tablet that tests batteries in and out of the car and adds diagnosis plus service functions such as oil, EPB, TPMS, BMS and IMMO, per the listing.
What the listing offers
- The listing states in-vehicle tests for battery, starter and generator, plus out-of-vehicle testing.
- The listed service functions include oil reset, EPB, TPMS, BMS and IMMO.
- An optional multimeter can connect for leakage detection, per the listing.
Limits to know
- The listing states only one year of free software updates. Check the cost after that.
- The multimeter is sold separately, and this is the most expensive pick here.

Pick 3 · FOXWELL
FOXWELL NT510 Pro for GM: scanner plus 12V tester
See price on AmazonA GM-specific full-system scanner with a 12V battery tester built in. The listing names SOH and SOC battery checks, bidirectional control and 20+ resets for Chevrolet, Buick, Cadillac and GMC.
What the listing offers
- Full-system GM diagnosis from engine to ABS, airbags and TPMS is listed.
- The listing states it tests battery state of health and state of charge with real-time voltage.
- 20+ reset services, including crankshaft relearn and EPB, are listed, plus bidirectional tests.
Limits to know
- Diagnosis is for GM vehicles only, per the listing.
- The listing does not state a CCA range or cranking and charging tests.

Pick 4 · Autel
Autel BT508: battery tester, one-brand scan
See price on AmazonAutel's step up from the BT506. The listing names battery, cranking and generator tests with adaptive conductance, plus all-system diagnosis limited to one vehicle brand.
What the listing offers
- The listing states it covers all BT506 functions and adds battery change and all-system diagnosis.
- Supports flooded, AGM, AGM spiral, EFB and GEL batteries across many rating standards, per the listing.
- Cranking test shows starting voltage, starting time and engine starting speed, per the listing.
Limits to know
- The listing limits diagnosis to only one vehicle brand. Confirm which brand before buying.
- Update terms are not stated in the listing.

Pick 5 · Autel
Autel BT506: 100-2000 CCA tester, pairs with Autel
See price on AmazonA standalone conductance tester for 6V and 12V batteries from 100 to 2000 CCA. It has no scan functions of its own, but the listing says it works with most Autel wireless scanners.
What the listing offers
- The listing states a 100 to 2000 CCA range for flooded, AGM, AGM spiral, EFB and GEL batteries.
- Cranking and full charging system tests are listed.
- Works with Autel scanners such as the MK808BT PRO and MK900BT, per the listing.
Limits to know
- No built-in code reading or battery registration. You need a separate Autel scanner for that.
- Update terms are not stated in the listing.

Pick 6 · TOPDON
TOPDON BT600 Plus: 6/12/24V tester with printer
See price on AmazonA standalone battery tester with a built-in thermal printer. The listing names 12V and 24V battery, cranking and charging tests, a 6V battery test, resistance testing and sequence testing.
What the listing offers
- The listing covers 6V, 12V and 24V tests, useful for mixed car and truck work.
- Built-in thermal printer and a 5200mAh battery rated up to 14 hours are listed.
- Sequence test for up to 5,000 units and resistance tests for several battery types are listed.
Limits to know
- No scan functions are stated, so it cannot read codes or register a new battery.
- Saves only 10 records per test type, per the listing.
Read before you buy
- P0606 code: Control module processor faultP0606 means the engine computer found an internal processor fault. Learn the common causes, from low voltage to software, how to diagnose it, and next steps.
- How to clear a check engine light the right wayHow to clear OBD2 codes and reset the check engine light: read and record first, fix the cause, clear with a scanner, then drive so monitors complete.
- Check engine light on but the car runs fineCheck engine light on but the car runs fine? Here are the usual causes, how to read the code, and when it is still worth fixing soon even with no symptoms.
- Battery registration after replacement: which cars need itBattery registration tells a car's charging system a new battery is installed. Which cars need it, including BMW, what happens if you skip it, and how to do it.
- Airbag light on: what it means and what not to doAirbag light on? The SRS system has found a fault and the airbags may not deploy. Common causes, how to read SRS codes safely, and why repairs belong with a pro.
More gear: TPMS, battery and service resets
Code & Clear chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.