# Autel MK808S vs MX808S: what the extra money buys

Source: https://codeandclear.com/blog/autel-mk808s-vs-mx808s
Published: 2026-10-09
Publisher: Code & Clear

**Short answer:** The MK808S listing says it works the same as the MX808S for diagnostics, so the extra money mostly buys TPMS. The model compared here, the MX808S-TS, adds TPMS sensor programming and relearn, lists 32+ services against the MK808S's 28+, and states 3000+ active tests and its memory and battery. If you do not program TPMS sensors, the MK808S covers the same core diagnostic jobs for less.

Autel sells the MaxiCOM MK808S and the MaxiCheck MX808S side by side, and the names differ by one letter. This page explains what you actually get for the higher price. The plain MX808S is not among the products in our guides, so we compare the closest listed model, the **Autel MaxiCheck MX808S-TS**, which is the MX808S with TPMS programming. All specs come from the Amazon listing text for each model, and anything a listing does not mention is marked Not stated.

## The short version

The **MK808S** listing describes itself as the same as the MX808S and MK808BT PRO in functionality. So for reading codes on all systems, live data, active tests and the common service resets, the two are close siblings.

The **MX808S-TS** listing adds full TPMS functions: sensor programming, OEM sensor relearn and TPMS light reset, which it says match Autel's MX900TS, MK900TS and TS900. It also lists 32+ services and says it is more comprehensive than the MK808S. That TPMS capability is the main thing the extra money buys.

## Spec comparison from the listings

Specs are taken only from each listing. Prices are listing prices at the time of writing.

| Spec | Autel MK808S | Autel MX808S-TS |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Listing price | $449.00 | $649.00 |
| Diagnostics | All systems, 1996-2026 vehicles | OE-level all systems |
| Active tests | OE-level active tests (count not stated) | 3000+ active tests |
| Service functions | 28+ | 32+ |
| TPMS sensor programming | Not stated | Yes: programming, OEM relearn, light reset |
| Vehicle coverage | 150+ makes | Not stated |
| Secure gateway | FCA AutoAuth, Renault SGW | Not stated |
| Operating system | Android 11 | Android 11 |
| Processor | 4-core, 1.8GHz | Rockchip RK3566 4-core |
| Memory | Not stated | 4GB RAM, 64GB ROM |
| Wi-Fi and battery | Not stated | 2.4 and 5G Wi-Fi, 5000mAh |
| ECU coding | Not stated | Not stated |

Autel MK808S vs MX808S-TS (listing facts only)

## What both tools do

Both listings describe an Android tablet that scans all available modules, reads and clears codes, shows ECU information and displays live data. Both describe bidirectional control, which lets you command parts such as ABS valves, windows, door locks, wipers and lights to confirm whether a component or its circuit is at fault. If that is new to you, see [what a bidirectional scan tool is](https://codeandclear.com/blog/what-is-a-bidirectional-scan-tool).

Both list the routine service functions most home mechanics use: oil reset, EPB, SAS and similar resets. The MK808S lists 28+ of these and the MX808S-TS lists 32+. The exact functions available on your car depend on make, model and year, so check Autel's coverage list for your vehicle.

Neither listing mentions ECU coding. If you want to turn hidden features on or set up replacement modules, look at tools that list coding, such as those in our [ECU coding scan tool guide](https://codeandclear.com/best/best-scan-tool-with-ecu-coding).

Note: Active tests move real parts. Keep hands, tools and loose clothing clear of fans, belts, wipers and windows, and follow the conditions the tool shows before each test.

## What the MX808S-TS adds: TPMS programming

Most cars sold in the US since the late 2000s have direct TPMS sensors in each wheel. A basic scanner can read TPMS codes, but when you install new aftermarket sensors they often need to be programmed with the right protocol and then relearned to the car. That is the job the MX808S-TS listing adds: TPMS sensor programming, OEM sensor relearn and TPMS light reset.

If you swap tires and wheels on several cars, buy aftermarket sensors, or run winter and summer wheel sets, this can save trips to a tire shop. If your tires are always done at a shop, it adds little. Our [TPMS relearn procedure guide](https://codeandclear.com/blog/tpms-relearn-procedure) explains when a relearn is needed, and the [TPMS tool guide](https://codeandclear.com/best/best-tpms-relearn-tool) covers dedicated options.

[See TPMS relearn tools](https://codeandclear.com/best/best-tpms-relearn-tool)

## Hardware and day to day use

The MK808S listing states Android 11 and a 4-core 1.8GHz processor. The MX808S-TS listing states Android 11, a Rockchip RK3566 4-core CPU, 4GB RAM, 64GB storage, dual-band Wi-Fi and a 5000mAh battery. The MK808S listing does not give memory or battery figures, so we cannot say how they compare on those points.

Neither listing describes a wireless VCI. If you want to move around the car without a cable, look at Bluetooth models such as the MK900BT, compared in [MK808S vs MK900](https://codeandclear.com/blog/autel-mk808s-vs-mk900), or the picks in our [wireless scan tool guide](https://codeandclear.com/best/best-wireless-bluetooth-scan-tool).

## Who should buy which

More Autel options, from basic scanners to MaxiSys tablets, are in our [Autel scanner guide](https://codeandclear.com/best/best-autel-scanner).

- Buy the MK808S if you want bidirectional tests and common resets for the lowest price in this pair.
- Buy the MX808S-TS if you program or relearn TPMS sensors yourself.
- Buy the MX808S-TS if the extra listed services cover a reset you need on your vehicle.
- Look elsewhere if you need ECU coding or a wireless VCI; neither listing offers them.

## Frequently asked questions

**Is the MK808S the same as the MX808S?** The MK808S listing says it is the same as the MX808S in functionality. The model compared here is the MX808S-TS, which adds TPMS sensor programming and lists 32+ services.

**Does the MK808S do TPMS?** Its listing mentions scanning the TPMS module along with other systems, but it does not state TPMS sensor programming. If you need to program new sensors, the MX808S-TS listing states that function.

**Do updates cost extra?** That depends on the exact listing and the maker's current terms, which change. Some listings state a free update period; others only mention subscription renewal. Check the listing and the maker's update policy before you buy, and see [scan tool updates and subscriptions](https://codeandclear.com/blog/scan-tool-updates-and-subscriptions) for what stops working when updates lapse.

**Is either tool a good first scanner?** Yes, if you want bidirectional tests. If you only need to read and clear codes, a cheaper all-system scanner from our [DIY scanner guide](https://codeandclear.com/best/best-obd2-scanner-for-diy-mechanics) is enough.

## Gear guides for this topic

- https://codeandclear.com/best/best-autel-scanner
- https://codeandclear.com/best/best-tpms-relearn-tool
- https://codeandclear.com/best/best-bidirectional-scan-tool
