# Best Autel scanners: which MaxiDiag, MaxiCOM, MaxiCheck or MaxiSys to buy

Source: https://codeandclear.com/best/best-autel-scanner
Publisher: Code & Clear. Picks are chosen from what each Amazon listing states, not from hands-on tests. Method: https://codeandclear.com/how-we-pick

Autel sells dozens of scanners, and the listings often say one model works the same as three others. The line names help. MaxiDiag (MD806, MD808, MD906) are all-system code readers with service resets but no listed active tests. MaxiCOM and MaxiCheck (MK808S, MX900, MK900BT) add bidirectional control and more services on an Android tablet, and the BT models use a wireless VCI. MaxiTPMS tools like the TS900 add tire sensor programming. MaxiSys (MS906 PRO, Elite II Pro) adds ECU coding and, on the top models, J2534 programming. This guide picks one or two models from each line and compares them by systems, active tests, service functions and connection, using only what each Amazon listing states, so you can match the line to the work you do.

## Picks

### 1. Autel Scanner MaxiCOM MK808S: All Systems Bidirectional OBD2 Scan Tool

Line: MaxiCOM; Systems: All systems; Active tests: Yes, OE-level; Service functions: 28+; Connection: Not stated

The MaxiCOM MK808S is the middle of the Autel range: all-system scans, OE-level active tests and 28+ services on an Android 11 tablet. The right Autel for most home mechanics.

What the listing offers:
- Active tests drive ABS, window, door, wiper and headlight actuators, per the listing.
- 28+ services across 150+ makes, with FCA AutoAuth and Renault SGW support.
- Covers all systems on 1996 to 2026 cars, according to the listing.

Limits to know:
- The listing names no ECU coding, which is a MaxiSys feature.
- Update terms are not stated, and the listing mentions subscription renewals.

### 2. Autel Scanner MaxiCheck MX900, 2026 US Ver. of MK900 MK900BT, CAN FD & DoIP

Line: MaxiCheck; Systems: All systems; Active tests: 3000+; Service functions: 40+; Connection: Not stated

The MaxiCheck MX900 steps up from the MK808S with 3000+ active tests, 40+ services and CAN FD and DoIP. The listing calls it the US version of the MK900.

What the listing offers:
- 3000+ active tests and up to 40+ services, more than the 28+ on the MK808S.
- CAN FD and DoIP plus FCA AutoAuth and Renault SGW, per the listing.
- Coverage of 15,000+ vehicles is stated in the listing.

Limits to know:
- The listing does not describe a wireless VCI. The MK900BT is the wireless version.
- Update terms are not stated, and the listing mentions subscription renewals.

### 3. Autel Scanner MaxiCOM MK900BT: MK900-BT 8in V2.0 Bidirectional Scan Tool

Line: MaxiCOM; Systems: All systems; Active tests: 3000+; Service functions: 40+; Connection: V150 Bluetooth, 33 ft

The wireless MaxiCOM, with the V150 Bluetooth VCI, an 8 inch screen, 3000+ active tests and 40+ services. Pick it over the MX900 if you want to move around the car.

What the listing offers:
- The V150 Bluetooth VCI gives 33 ft of range, per the listing.
- 3000+ active tests and 40+ services, including ABS bleed and injector coding.
- CAN FD and DoIP protocol support are stated in the listing.

Limits to know:
- ECU coding is not listed, so coding work points to the MaxiSys line.
- Update terms are not stated in the listing.

### 4. Autel MaxiDiag MD906 PRO 2026, All-Sys OBD2 Diagnostic Scanner, 11 Service

Systems: All systems; Service functions: 11; Active tests: Not stated; Protocols: CAN FD, FCA AutoAuth; Stated updates: Lifetime free via WiFi

The top MaxiDiag code reader, with all-system scans, 11 services, CAN FD and FCA AutoAuth, and lifetime WiFi updates. The Autel to buy if you do not need active tests.

What the listing offers:
- Lifetime WiFi updates with no extra charge are stated in the listing.
- 11 services, compared with 7 on the MD808 PRO and MD806.
- CAN FD and FCA AutoAuth support for newer GM and Chrysler group vehicles.

Limits to know:
- Active tests are not listed, so it cannot command parts like the MaxiCOM tools.
- The listing's claim of matching the MK808S refers to diagnostics, not services.

### 5. Autel Scanner MaxiSYS MS906 PRO: Top ECU C0ding & 3000+ Test as MS906 MAX

Line: MaxiSys; Systems: All systems; Active tests: 3000+; Service functions: 36+; Connection: Not stated

The entry MaxiSys, adding online ECU coding and new ECU setup to 3000+ active tests and 36+ services, on an 8 inch 1920 x 1200 tablet. For owners who replace modules.

What the listing offers:
- Online ECU coding is stated for 99% of mainstream cars.
- 8 inch 1920 x 1200 screen with an 8-core CPU, 4GB RAM and 128GB storage.
- 3000+ active tests, including transmission solenoids, per the listing.

Limits to know:
- It lists fewer services than the cheaper MX900 and MK900BT.
- The listing mentions a subscription fee but gives no update terms.

### 6. Autel MaxiSys Elite II Pro Scanner, 2-Year Update Elite 2 Pro J2534 Tool

Line: MaxiSys; Systems: All systems; Active tests: 3000+; Service functions: 40+; Connection: J2534 VCI

The pro end of the Autel line, with J2534 programming, MOTOR TruSpeed repair data, ECU coding, 3000+ tests and 2 years of updates. For small shops that program modules.

What the listing offers:
- J2534 pass-thru for ECU programming with OEM online software, per the listing.
- MOTOR TruSpeed Repair data is built in, per the listing.
- 2 years of free updates are stated, more than other Autel listings here state.

Limits to know:
- At $2,369 it is far beyond what a home mechanic needs for codes and resets.
- Screen size is not stated in the listing.

### 7. Autel MaxiTPMS TS900, Scanner & TPMS Programming Tool 2-in-1, Upgrade of MK900BT, MK900TS, MS906TS, MX900, MK900, All System Diagnosis, 40+Services CAN FD/DoIP Program Autel MX Sensors

Type: 8 inch wireless TPMS and scan tablet; Relearn (per listing): 4 methods, incl. OBD relearn; Sensor programming: Autel MX-Sensors, 4 ways, 1 to 20 sensors; Extra functions: All-system diagnosis, service functions; Updates (per listing): Not stated

A three-in-one TPMS, diagnostic and service tablet. It reads, activates and relearns all known TPMS sensors and programs Autel MX-Sensors. Best if tires are part of your work.

What the listing offers:
- Activates, reads and relearns all known TPMS sensors, including Tesla OE sensors.
- Programs Autel MX-Sensors four ways, including Copy by OBD and Auto Create.
- The wireless V150 VCI pairs over Bluetooth, per the listing.

Limits to know:
- Active tests are not described in the listing.
- At $782 you pay for TPMS tools that a non-tire shop may not need.

### 8. Autel MaxiDiag MD808 PRO OBD2 Scanner, All System Diagnostic Scan Tool

Systems: All systems; Service functions: 7; Active tests: Not stated; Protocols: Not stated; Stated updates: Not stated

An older MaxiDiag all-system reader with 7 services, all 10 OBD2 modes and graphed live data. Consider it if you find it priced well below the MD906 PRO.

What the listing offers:
- Scans engine, ABS, SRS, EPB and other systems to read and clear codes.
- All 10 OBD2 modes, including the O2 monitor test, are stated.
- Live data in text or graph form helps spot intermittent sensor faults.

Limits to know:
- CAN FD and FCA AutoAuth are not listed, unlike the MD906 PRO.
- Only 7 services are listed, and update terms are not stated.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.